A new California law will prohibit sales of disposable vapes. Here’s why

Throwaway vapes will be illegal in California under a new law Gov. Gavin Newsom signed this week that’s aimed to reduce the risk of battery fires at landfills and recycling centers.

Retailers and distributors found breaking the law would be fined $500 for the first violation and as much as $2,000 for subsequent violations.